Iceland doesn’t exist

by

I didn’t have any proof of the existence of Iceland before the recent eruption of the volcano. Have I ever been to Iceland? No. Do I know one Icelander? No.  For me, Iceland was a theoretical area of the world, a word in my dictionary, a point in my map, probably a joke invented by  the humorist Barry Sanders. Then, Eyjafjallajökull erupted. I truly believe in civilization, scientific progress but a so called country able to give this barbarian name is nothing but barbarian. Last time, I wrote at random in the keyboard of my computer and the result was: Eyjafjallajökull. I’m pretty sure vehkfehkjzhjk, ferkjahfhrefh and fhelahfjhio are Icelandic names. Maybe I’m mistaken, people capable of remembering such names are at the very high degree of civilization, something like post-humanism. In France, my country, I relate volcanos to the region called “Auvergne”. Auvergne is the country of former President Valéry Giscard d’Estaing, from 1974-1981. Nobody remembers Giscard d’Estaing nowadays, except one detail: the way he ridiculously said “au revoir” (good bye) while leaving the Elysee in 1981. You can watch it here : and in all bloopers of French TV. I made some research about Iceland in Wikipedia and I read this : “Iceland is a European island country located in the North Atlantic Ocean on the Mid-Atlantic Ridge. It has a population of about 320,000 and a total area of 103,000 km2″.  320,000 people like Valéry Giscard d’Estaing, imagine that!

This little piece of land would be funny if this eruption didn’t compromise my fly to Jerusalem then Fès. I could miss two fabulous historical cities, two lands of my dreams because of a country that doesn’t exist inhabited by people who have never existed.

Tags:

8 Responses to “Iceland doesn’t exist”

  1. tracey Says:

    You must be too young to remember Björk ou peut-être elle n’était pas si bien connu en France.

  2. carolspindel Says:

    au revoir Giscard!

  3. mabrouckrachedi Says:

    I thought Björk was an estra-terrestrial. And don’t tell me about Iceland’s soccer team, I’m sure that it is a convenient invention to pretend French team led by Domenech is not that bad.

  4. Tracey Says:

    She does have that sort of eery, out-of-this-world voice.

  5. Jan from Madtown Says:

    LOL, MAbrouck!

  6. james Says:

    very funny

  7. anael Says:

    I recognize you, Island Man

  8. tatiana Says:

    your inspiration is very particulary.the volcano of iceland ,auvergne and the president VGE.PLEASE ICELAND=BJORK (the best).

    I’am an fan of mabrouck rachedi.

    And then ,your future book.

Leave a Reply

